Thanksgiving

This weekend is likely to be a rough one for me.

For the past five years or so, I have had Thanksgiving at my house. I love to cook this one meal, I love my family & friends all in one place, my kids and my parents and my sister and her family and all our friends together. It is truly a joyful occasion for me.  It had become something of a tradition.

This year, all of that changed. And I don’t think it will ever be the same again.

So, Ad is taking me away from it all, away from here, away from the memories of Thanksgivings past, and thoughts of what they will never be again.  Bless him, for his kindness, his thoughtfulness, his love, his compassion. He doesn’t get it, because he doesn’t know how much…having this…meant to me. But still, he cares enough to do this for me, even though it takes him away from his own family.  I am deeply, deeply grateful to him.

But still, my heart is breaking.

Leave a Reply

