Back in the Saddle

Back at work after 10 days off. I love that my office closes (with pay!) for the time between Christmas Eve and the New Year, but it is sooo hard to get back to having to be at work! Especially when I had such an incredibly lazy 10 days: no schedule, no plans, no commitments. Sleeping in til 9:30, playing on the computer or napping and reading all day…a lovely break, really. But now…back to the Real World.

Unfortunately my real world didn’t start as planned. Couldn’t sleep last night: thinking about this coming Thurs/Fri/Sat, then next weekend’s party, then Las Vegas; worrying about work (for no discernible reason); even excitement over my new YMCA classes – that were supposed to start this morning, and didn’t, because I didn’t get to sleep til after 2am. Damn it!  I’m not off to a great start.

I have to go see the college counselor person today about my graduation plans, if I can this semester, and if not, what I have to take to do so. I wish that would get settled, because then I would know what my schedule this semester will be. It’s pretty up in the air right now, and I don’t like it at all.

Speaking of up in the air, a Twitter/blogger friend forwarded this video to me after we got to chatting about their plans this week to do a zipline tour in Vegas.  Ad and I had done a canopy zipline in Mexico and loved it, so this looks intriguing to me.  Course, as W reminded me when I kept sending him “We should do this!  And this!  And this!” emails: “We only have three days.”  Heh.

I’m actually feeling a lot of pre-party-planning stress right now. It’s only 12 days away and I feel like I am not ready at all, plus I haven’t gotten RSVP’s from everyone that I had expected to yet.  It’s just my usual anal-perfectionist-motherhen-everything-must-be-perfect-ness rearing its ugly head, but still. I don’t know why I do this to myself, this whole throwing parties thing.  Oh wait, I do. Because I love kinky sexy parties.  I love to play and be played with in front of a group of friends and acquaintances.  Because I love to watch my friends play. Because I am an exhibitionist and a voyeur.  Yeah, that.

But what if I throw a party and no one shows up? Worse, what if everyone does and no one plays? Or everyone does and no one has fun? And what will we talk about all night???

See why I was up half the night last night?

Leave a Reply

