We’re here!

Vacation mode for me is typically waking at the crack of dawn (sometimes literally, as I did almost every day on board the cruise and driving up the CA coast with Ad last year.) Ad teases me unmercifully about it (I hate to get out of bed at home!) but it makes perfect sense to me to get up early on vacation.  Who wants to miss a single minute of a day when there is so much to see and do??  I did make myself sleep in until 8AM this morning, but then I had to get up. So much to see, so much to do!  Then I read my horoscope for the day:

Monday, May 31st, 2010 — You might try to split your day into two parts, one for work and one for play. You want to be responsible and do what’s expected of you, but you don’t want to miss out on having a good time. The key to your current happiness is making a realistic plan and then sticking to it. If you think about your day in advance, you’ll be able to utilize your time efficiently so you can join in the fun and still finish your chores later.

So okay–relax first. Then make plans!


Just got in from the beach and pool…walked to Starbuckies this morning for pastries and lattes, and made a trip to the bank to exchange some dollars for pesos. I’m getting the hang of figuring the exchange rate, but it’s nice to have some funds in the local currency too.

I haven’t quite settled into relaxation mode yet, but I’m getting there. And I am feeling a little lost without Ad to figure everything out with.  This is the first time I have traveled out of the country without a husband/boyfriend/partner. It’s been quite an adventure so far, even though we haven’t done much, and PV is relatively easy to deal with.  I am enjoying being on my own though, even if it is a bit of an emotional challenge.  Because honestly? I’m a chicken to do things on my own!  That’s why I make myself do it so often–I want to force myself out of my shell. So it’s a delicious, exhilarating, scary feeling, but one that I welcome.

I am missing Ad  a bit, but I only just left him yesterday so it isn’t as sharp as my longing for W. I haven’t seen W since last Wednesday, and while we’ve spoken a few times on the phone, it’s just not the same.  I have some additional thoughts on that, but that will have to wait for a post of its own.  It is definitely going to be a challenge for me to be apart from him for so long without getting depressed though, I can already see that.

He’s made me laugh though. I wrote him this long email and at the end asked him (rather plaintively) if he misses me at all yet. He writes me back one word in answer: “Yes.”  That’s it. Love my man of few words. But his few words mean a lot.

On our way!

Waiting at the Dallas Airport for the next leg of our journey...

Is the plane here yet?

We have arrived!

We have arrived!

The view from our deck.

First morning, with the sky and Banderas Bay behind us.

We found a Starbucks.

And a couple cows.

And some other weird food.

We found the beach.

And I found some shade.

Life is good.

Later today we are taking the bus down to the Malecon, a seaside promenade, to walk, snack and watch the sunset. I’ve talked with a local guy about horseback riding one day this week and have been reading about a hike that we want to go on that you hike out to and take a water taxi back. Ziplining and snorkeling may also be in our future, depending on how energetic we are. Personally I just enjoyed walking down to the grocery store this morning and checking out all the unusual fruits, grocery items & packaging. I didn’t realize they would package everything so different, or how much I rely on labels to decide what to purchase.  Having a kitchen is a lovely thing: we are now provisioned with fresh fruit, bakery goods for breakfast, coffee, alcohol, soda and other munchies.

And now–naptime!

One Response to We’re here!

  1. Kara says:

    Glad to see you’re having a great time. Hope the rest of your vacation is just as fun :) Kara XOXO

Leave a Reply

