Truth: Day 10 – Letting Go

Say not, ‘I have found the truth,’ but rather, ‘I have found a truth.’
~Kahlil Gibran

Been away from the computer for a couple of days while I attended a local kink event over the weekend.  I helped a vendor out for the price of admission and ended up making…if not yet a friend, at least an acquaintance, and possibly someone I can help out at future events with the same deal, plus either for a commission on sales or an item of hers (she sells gorgeous whips.) I do hope it works out-it’s an interesting opportunity!

I also, apparently, pissed off a friend with an offhand remark that she took seriously. I really was teasing–it was more about my insecurity around other people–but it must have hit a nerve with her and she was very cool (to the point of pointedly ignoring me) for the rest of the event.  I am sorry if I hurt her feelings, but of course no one knows what might trigger someone else, and now, if she won’t talk to me (as it appears she won’t) then we can’t hash the situation out.

The reason I bring this up is because of the topic of this Truth post: letting people go.  My inclination is to just let it go–not bring it up and if she doesn’t contact me again, let the friendship die.  If she’s that thin-skinned, then…shrug.  I don’t need that kind of situation in my life.  Drama-making in the future, right?  And although I like her, and have enjoyed her company at events and such, we’ve really never had a truly deep connection.  We’re just too different.  So why make the effort?

On the other hand…maybe I let people go too easily. Maybe I need to put myself out, make an effort, in order to develop deeper, lasting friendships.  I don’t know. Sometimes I think it is my poly relationships–my loves–that are my deeper, long-lasting friendships.  Is that such a bad thing?

Other than that, the weekend was pretty enjoyable. I had a couple scenes with Ad, one of which I really enjoyed, got a HOT new vinyl dress, got to strut around in slut clothes, and visited with some good friends.  Oh, and I got a Victorian rug beater.  Yay!

Anyway, on to Truth, Day 10.

Day 10 → Someone you need to let go, or wish you didn’t know.

I don’t really know anyone that I “wish I didn’t know,” because, if I stat to feel that way about someone, I usually…let them go. It’s part of my quest/desire/insistence on living in a drama-free zone.  I don’t keep toxic people around.

But, as I mentioned above, sometimes I worry/wonder if I don’t let people go too soon; too easily. Perhaps it is a failing on my part, not theirs.  We all have faults and limitations and issues…I am far from perfect myself…so maybe I should be more…tolerant?  I don’t know.  I just know that when a relationship with someone becomes more work than pleasure, when I dread seeing them or have to push myself to make the effort to talk to them…then yeah, I’d rather not.

Leave a Reply

