Truth: Day 14 – No Heroes

 

When in doubt, tell the truth.

Day 14 → A hero that has let you down.

Another Truth post that is supposed to be in the form of a letter, but I wouldn’t know who to address it to. I have no heroes, never have. I’ve never held anyone up to the status of my own, personal “hero” because everyone makes mistakes, everyone fails, everyone falls. No one could live up to the pressure of being a hero, and I would never ask someone to.  That’s just setting someone up for failure, and myself for disappointment. Instead I feel blessed by the very humanness my loved ones exhibit, by the fact that they feel safe enough, secure enough, and loved enough by me to show me their failings, and to know they never have to live up to any arbitrary ideal I set for them.  I do not put people on pedestals (or at least try not to) and do not want to be set on a pedestal myself.

Except, maybe like this.


I ran this morning for the first time in ages.  I’ve been doing classes, which has been enjoyable, but it does not hold the sheer joy of stretching my legs, feeling the sweat pour off my body, finding that headspace that I do when running.  It was good, and it felt right to force myself out of bed and into the world, into physicality, this morning. I am a hedonist at heart, but also have a need to push myself at times, which naturally wars with said hedonism. Moderation in all things, right? Too much hedonism makes a slothful, lazy girl. Too much pushing makes a sore, tired one. So I am trying (again) to find a balance. Balancing has never been my forte.

See?


But I keep trying. It is my life’s calling, I suppose, to find that balance.


I don’t know if I mentioned it, but I did manage to get a story sent out to an editor for a call for submissions this month. I love the story, even though it was rejected by another editor, so I had to try to find a new home for it.  It shows a softer side to WIITWD, a story of romantic bondage that I actually asked W and Ad to help me with in real life–not the writing of it, but the acting out of it. We’ll see what happens.

That said, there are a number of upcoming deadlines for anthologies calling for submissions (see the Erotica Readers and Writers Association website for a complete list and details.) A short list:

Lesbian BDSM Erotica Anthology [Title Forthcoming]
Editor: Sinclair Sexsmith
Publisher: Cleis Press
Deadline: January 1, 2011 (Fall 2011 release)
Payment: USD $50 and 2 copies of the book on publication
lesbianbdsmerotica at gmail.com

Red Velvet and Absinthe: Gothic Tales of Erotic Romance
Editor: Mitzi Szereto
Publisher: Cleis Press
Deadline: January 1, 2011 (earlier submissions are strongly encouraged )
Payment: $50-70 (payable on publication) and 2 copies of the anthology
Send to: submissions at mitziszereto.com

Going Down: Oral Sex Erotica
Editor: Rachel Kramer Bussel
Publisher: Cleis Press
Payment: $50 and 2 copies of the book on publication.
Deadline: January 15, 2011 (earlier submissions preferred)
goingdownantho at gmail.com

Corsets and Clockworks: Steampunk Erotic Romance
Editor: Kristina Wright
Publisher: Cleis Press
Publication Date: Fall 2011
Deadline: February 15 (earlier submissions preferred!)
Payment: $100 per story and 2 copies of the book, on publication
E-mail: corsetsandclockworks at gmail.com

Bound By Lust: A Collection of BDSM-flavored Erotic Romance
Editor: Shanna Germain
Publisher: Cleis Press
Deadline: March 1, 2011
Payment: $50/story
BoundByLust at gmail.com

Chocolate Flava 3: The Eroticanoir.com Anthology
Editor: Zane
Publisher: Simon and Schuster/ATRIA Books
Deadline: March 1, 2011
Payment: A one-time fee of $300 and 5 complimentary copies
Emailed submissions not accepted: Send your submissions to: Strebor Books/Simon and Schuster, ATTN: Chocolate Flava 2, PO Box 6505, Largo, MD 20792.

Best Bondage Erotica 2012
Editor: Rachel Kramer Bussel
Publisher: Cleis Press in late 2011
Deadline: April 1, 2011
Payment: $50 and 2 copies of the book on publication

Best Erotic Romance 2012
Editor: Kristina Wright
Publisher: Cleis Press
Publication Date: Winter 2012
Deadline: April 15 (earlier submissions preferred)
Payment: $100 per story and 2 copies of the book, on publication
E-mail: besteroticromance2012@gmail.com

Best Women’s Erotica 2012
Editor: Violet Blue
Publisher: Cleis Press
Deadline: May 1st, 2011
Paste your story submissions into emails and send to: cleisbook at gmail.com

Best Lesbian Romance 2012
Editor: Radclyffe
Publisher: Cleis Press
Deadline: March 15, 2011
Payment: $50 and 2 contributor copies


In other news, this month looks like it’s going to be a poopy one, in terms of getting Jade tied up, beat and/or fucked. Well, I did get several days of good fucking, and had an awesome scene with Ad and W at a play party earlier in the month, but since then…bleh.  I had some recent (minor) surgery that has dampened things a bit, W hurt himself beating on me (how’s that for irony?) and is now suffering from a cold, he will be away for a few days at Christmas and I have some rather more extensive surgery right after he gets back that will most likely lay me up for several weeks afterward. I had (hoped) to maybe schedule a couple days with W before the holidays to get my fix for a few weeks, but I am not sure that will happen. We have a play party at the new playspace on Friday though, so who knows? Maybe the stars will align and we’ll all be healthy and in the right headspace for it.

And that, as they say, is all she wrote. At least for the moment. ;-)

Leave a Reply

