Truth: Day 17 – Books

What is uttered from the heart alone, Will win the hearts of others to your own. ~ Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

After a bit of a hiatus, I am back on the Truth meme.

Day 17 → A book you’ve read that changed your views on something.

I don’t know that there is a book that has changed my views on something, as such, but there was one book that I read as a young person that made me realize what I wanted to do with my life.  It was Island of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O’Dell. I was so drawn into the world that O’Dell created, I quite forgot that it wasn’t non-fiction. So at the end, when I realized that it was a male author who had created it–that it was a complete fabrication–that he had been that skilled, I was awed. And a light bulb went off in my head. I could do that, I could write like that. And I did. I wrote my first novel based on O’Dell’s book (with a herd of wild horses and a shipwrecked man, lol.)

It was the beginning of a lifelong avocation.

Leave a Reply

