Truth – Day 21: Best Friends

Anyone who doesn’t take truth seriously in small matters cannot be trusted in large ones either. ~ Albert Einstein

Day 21 → (scenario) Your best friend is in a car accident and you two got into a fight an hour before. What do you do?

Duh. Go see her. What could be so serious that you would not go see your best friend in the hospital after an accident?

Truthfully, though, I don’t know if I have what I would consider a “best friend.” I have several female friends, and many acquaintances, and one friend that I have been close to for many years, but since high school, I have never had the easy, share-everything, call-each-other-all-the-time kind of relationships with women that other women seem to have. Sometimes…I feel a little left out. Like maybe I’m missing out on something.

Wait…I said since high school.  That’s not exactly correct. The last time I had something like that was with my sister. She lived with us (my ex and I and our two families) for about 5 years, and we were practically joined at the hip for nine years before she left for CA to take up with her then-ex-boyfriend-now-2nd-husband.  We were so incredibly close, she broke my heart as much as her ex-husband’s by leaving. And yet…it was the best thing that ever happened to me in some ways. I wouldn’t be who I am now if she hadn’t left. And yet…yes, I miss that closeness that we shared.

On the other hand, the closeness that I share with my two men is not to be discounted. In fact, I’d have to say it is far deeper than any I have shared with anyone else, male or female. Is that deep female bond a necessity? I don’t know.

One Response to Truth – Day 21: Best Friends

  1. Magenta says:

    I wish I knew how much I am missing by not having a close female friend. Is it that I’m not good at it, or that my life is not structured in a way to allow it, or that I don’t really like many women, or that I’ve isolated myself so far from the vanilla ones that I can’t consider them an option, or that I find them boring, or…. Yeah, I’ve spent a lot of time wondering about this one, as well. My sister was also my closest experience with it, followed by college roommates, with whom I’m still close (sister, too). But they’re all shocked (but not necessarily appalled) when they find out about the lifestyle I live, and that to which I aspire. They all saw my weakness for men as something I’d outgrow when I “found the right man,” or at least when I made a commitment to one, even if he were not “the one.” That I still want (and occasionally, have) others is simply not understandable to them. How can we have a close relationship when they are not comfortable with a big part of what makes me, me?

Leave a Reply

