Time Flies

I can’t believe it’s been since Friday that I last posted here. What have I been doing with myself for four days?  I’ve been busy, that’s for sure. And every time I’ve opened up a window to post here, or thought about it, something’s interfered.  Good things, though. Like vacation planning. And some positive work stuff. And W emails. And hiking, and dinner with Ad and the kids, and Ad and W. And play with W. And working on papers for my class.

The big news is that I made the reservations for The GirlChild’s graduation trip. She and I are going to Puerto Vallarta for ten days! Just she and I at a condo on the beach for ten relaxing, sun-filled days. We leave May 30th, and it cannot get here soon enough! I have made the flight reservations and condo reservations and paid in full for it all…now I just have to put a bit aside for food, miscellaneous and, oh yeah, adventures.

The GirlChild insisted that she just wants to sleep in, go to the pool, go to the beach, eat a bit, sleep some more, read a book and then maybe go out to eat before sleeping again. For ten days.  I’m like, “Seriously? For ten days?!?” Yep. So I started looking at all the things I want to do:

  • Zipline
  • Bay cruise
  • Snorkel
  • Horseback ride
  • Swim with dolphins (in the wild!)
  • Kayak
  • Explore Puerto Vallarta
  • Explore out islands
  • Parasail! (I’ve never done it)

Apparently she and I have different ideas of what “relaxation” means.  But that’s okay. I think we’ll find a happy medium.  And I may get down there after all this crazy activity lately and just decide that pool-beach-pool with a book is exactly what I want to do as well.

That and float up to the swim-up bar for one of those umbrella drinks.

Besides that I have been working on end-of-term papers/presentation for my class. It’s been an interesting class, but I may be glad when I am not feeling compelled to bring up such…potentially contentious…topics. I like debate and discussion but…sometimes it just wears me out. What I have learned though, is that it is possible to love and like and still be all-kinds-of-turned-on by someone whose viewpoints I sometimes just don’t get, and that even bug me at times.  That’s an interesting concept to me. Though as was pointed out, my other lovers may not agree with me, either, but maybe they just didn’t point it out, or debate with me about it. That thought kind of bugged me. I don’t want someone to just agree with me, I want discussion, even if it makes me/us uncomfortable or is tense at times. What’s the fun in just talking to a mirror? So that was a revelation as well, and not as good a one as the first one.

Okay, off to bed for me. Classwork to do tomorrow, work work, doctor appointment and then class tomorrow night. After class? Who knows…

One Response to Time Flies

  1. Inferno says:

    It all sounds so fun. I so need a vacation.

Leave a comment